Mechanische Werkstätte
Deutsch English
For a new experience of wine.
A house moves through the town of Steinbach-Hallenberg (Part 1)
The state-approved resort town Steinbach-Hallenberg celebrated its 775th anniversary in 2003. A contemporary witness is the Corkscrew Workshop, built in the 19th century. In this smithy the generations of the Recknagel family devoted themselves to the manufacturing of their patented corkscrews since 1871.

By the sacrificial work of the family the workshop soon advanced to a prime example for small ironmongery trade rich in tradition in the south Thuringian town. The corkscrews have been demanding collector's items down to the present day. When the owner Ernst Recknagel died in 1988 and did not leave any successors, the Corkscrew Workshop was closed down. The planned conversion of this historical monument to corkscrew manufacturing into a museum, however, could not be realized at its former place.

Therefore, the council members of Steinbach-Hallenberg decided to find a worthy retirement for their historical sight in the heart of the town. For the road transport that was necessary to move the building, they engaged a specialist in such technical masterly performances: the Bennert Company. The relocation of the Corkscrew Workshop, financed by the European Union, the State of Thuringia and local sponsors took place during a folk festival.

Mechanische Werkstätte
Deutsch English
Für ein neues Weinerlebnis.
Ein Haus rollt durch Steinbach-Hallenberg (Teil 1)
Der staatlich anerkannte Erholungsort Steinbach-Hallenberg feierte im Jahre 2003 sein 775-jähriges Bestehen. Ein Zeitzeuge ist die im 19.Jahrhundert erbaute Korkenzieherwerkstatt. In dieser Schmiede widmete sich die Familie Recknagel seit 1871 der Herstellung ihrer patentierten Korkenzieher.

Durch die aufopferungsvolle Arbeit der Familie avancierte die Werkstatt bald zum Musterbeispiel des traditionsreichen Kleineisenhandwerks in der südthüringischen Stadt. Die Korkenzieher sind bis zum heutigen Tage begehrte Sammlerobjekte. Als im Jahre 1988 der Inhaber Ernst Recknagel starb und keine Nachfolger hinterließ, wurde die Korkenzieherwerkstatt stillgelegt. Der geplante Umbau dieses Denkmals zu einem Museum konnte am ehemaligen Standort aber nicht realisiert werden.

Deshalb beschloss die Stadt Steinbach-Hallenberg, ihrem Wahrzeichen einen würdigen Altersruhesitz im Herzen der Stadt zu verschaffen. Mit der dazu notwendigen Translozierung beauftragten die Stadtoberhäupter einen Spezialisten für solch technische Meisterleistungen: die Firma Bennert. Die mit EU-Fördermitteln und Sponsorengeldern finanzierte Umsetzung der Korkenzieherwerkstatt erfolgte im Rahmen eines Volksfestes.